A word about Revelation

For your toolboxes: Many people today dispute the actual date of John’s authorship of the book of Revelation, they try and date it much closer to Paul’s epistles and Calvary in an effort to conform it to their strange doctrines. I have encountered many who deny its dating of ca 96AD. .

This jumped out at me tonight in my study and I wanted to share it with you.
One Internal proof Revelation was written AFTER Pauls death, ca 67 Ad is that the Lord Jesus mentions the martyrdom of Antipas in Revelation 2:13 I know thy works, and where thou dwellest, even where Satan’s seat is: and thou holdest fast my name, and hast not denied my faith, even in those days wherein Antipas was my faithful martyr, who was slain among you, where Satan dwelleth.

. Antipas was roasted alive inside a copper steer in 92 AD. Thats 25 years after Paul’s death.
John was on Patmos ca 96AD. Logically then, the Book of Revelation can be reliably dated 92-96AD.
This internal proof, affirming the date of the writing of the book of Revelation dismantles many strange doctrines you will see on FB and in many so called “Bible study” “right division” and mdr “study” groups.


I have debated folks about the book of revelation using the historical record of the Roman rulers. They always ignore it, or deny the accuracy of it, for no other reason except preserving their pet doctrines.


Antipas was killed at Pergamum, historically known as “the seat of satan” in 92 AD. There is also a shrine there called “satan’s throne” to which Jesus makes a direct reference to.

Domitian banished John to Patmos about 95-96 AD. John was released from exile after Domitian’s death following a successful appeal to Domitian’s successor.
John returned to the church at Ephesus ( a gentile church founded by Paul himself), where he served as an elder until his death.

For anyone who doubts, Rev 2:13 is internal evidence that nails it down to after 92 AD, As after 92 AD and during Domition’s reign.

Antipas was martyred in 92AD, and Jesus himself makes mention of Antipas by name. (what an honor!).
I have had folks flat out deny the historical record about it. “The Bible does not say” “no one really knows” “if the Bible does not say, I won’t believe it” and the one I hear the most “Revelation was written to the Jews” Israel had ceased to exist 25 years prior.

Revelation 2:13 I know thy works, and where thou dwellest, even where Satan’s seat is: and thou holdest fast my name, and hast not denied my faith, even in those days wherein Antipas was my faithful martyr, who was slain among you, where Satan dwelleth.

Leave a Reply

